I am a closet writer. That means I want to be a writer, but I don’t devote time to it. I’ve never been published, but I was staff writer for a blog for about six months (I quit because deadlines are the bane of my existence) and did win a Nook in a county-wide essay contest here in the great state of Indiana.

Those two successes boosted my confidence and sparked my flame to push myself a little further. This blog is another push.

I started writing when I was a kid. My very first story, kept by my mom, was about a rabbit and a turtle in competition. The rabbit was eaten by a hawk, and the moral of the story, quoth the turle, was, “It pays to be slow.”

Most of the other stories I wrote never got finished. I kept a journal throughout my childhood and high school years where I wrote down story ideas and beginnings of stories, but never followed through to the finish.

About two years ago, I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo for the first time, but didn’t finish my novel. Still working on it.

While pregnant with Eliza, I realized that fiction just isn’t my forte. Maybe that won’t be true forever, but I think I excel at painting pictures of real life. Call me a romantic, but there it is.

I also really enjoy sharing what I’m learning with others, but get really sweaty pits when I’m standing in a teaching role. Maybe, just reading this, you have already come to the conclusion that took me a considerable amount of time to reach.

Six months ago, Randy and I asked the Lord what I should do in my not-taking-care-of-the-family time. Writing was chosen. Three months ago, I realized fiction was a dead end road in my life and probably not how the Lord wanted me to enrich this world.

So!

I am trying my hand at writing curriculum. Have I ever written curriculum? Nope! Do I know what I’m doing? Nope! Am I really enjoying myself? YEP. But do I still struggle with deadlines? Absolutely.

Enter this blog. Accountability. Keeping the creative writing juices going. Giving me something quick and easy that gives instant satisfaction while I slowly plod along with something that is totally satisfying but taking me f.o.r.e.v.e.r to accomplish.

What’s one thing you’ve been wanting to accomplish but haven’t yet devoted the time to do it?

