Amish farm kids

“If anyone tells you religion is just habit – we’d answer them that’s better to have that habit then not have it at all.” Elizabeth Coblentz, The Best of the Amish Cook, Vol. 1, 1991-1996

Amish folk are characterized by hard work, disciplined lives, great food, and religion.  I checked out the previously referenced book so that I could get some mouth-watering recipes, but have been getting some down-to-earth tidbits of advice about life too.

This quote is very counter-cultural, but I like it.  Our culture wants religion to be all about relationship and good feelings.  But I like thinking about attending church as a good habit.  I don’t always feel like brushing my teeth, but I know that it is good for my well-being whether I’m in the mood or not.

I could say the same for attending church.  We are attending a church that is an hour away from our house.  Sometimes, I would rather roll over and sleep in than obey the alarm clock when it sounds off at 6:00am, telling me to hurry up and get the girls ready so we can be out the door by 7:30am.  But I continue this habit because it nurtures my relationship with God, my family, especially my husband, and other believers.  It is good for me even when I don’t feel like it.

What do you think?  Is this an incorrect view of church?

Do you agree or disagree with this quote?  Air your opinion.

