I tend to be skeptical of all products labelled “Christian.”  So the “Christian fiction” section in my local library isn’t a place I often frequent.  My aunt loaned me her copies of the Restoration Series by Terri Blackstock, and, I admit, they sat on my shelf for quite a while.  In fact, I only started reading them because I knew I was going to see my aunt soon and needed to return them to her.

Boy howdy, am I ever glad that I did!  Never has a piece of current fiction inspired me as much as these books!

Terri Blackstock, creative though she is, is not the world’s next George MacDonald.  I’ve gone on to read all her other novels since starting out with this series.  Most of her books are entertaining and suspenseful, but her books won’t become classics.

However, the concept behind this series is fascinating.  She answers the question, “What would a Christian do if he or she was without electricity?”

Not only did this series of books bring me back to my days in Kosova of on-again, off-again electrical power, it also made me seriously consider how to implement changes within our home to be more self-sustainable and less wasteful.  This set of novels has seriously changed our family life and set into motion my starting to research gardening, nutrition, homeschooling, and foraging.  It also gave me the desire to learn how to shoot a gun.

Read it, read it, read it!  That’s all I can say for these books.

This fall, NBC will be introducing a television series that explores the same concept, minus the Christian aspect, I am sure.  It is called Revolution, and I am really looking forward to it.

Have you read this series?  What would you do without electricity?

