Tags

I lurv broccoli cheddar soup so much.  However, My Man does not appreciate the loads of cheese in most recipes.  Too heavy on the fromage.  Too light on the vegetables.

So I decided to create my own version.  This has a much nicer vegetable to cheese ratio, says My Man.

Cheddar Broccoli Soup
1 tbsp oil
1 small onion, diced
1 carrot, shredded
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 12 oz package frozen chopped broccoli
1/2 bunch kale, torn
4 cups water
1 chicken bouillon cube
1 10.75 oz can condensed cheddar cheese soup
1 cup shredded cheese

1. Saute the onion, carrot, and garlic in oil until the onion becomes soft.
2. To the sauteed veggies, add the broccoli, kale, water, and bouillon cube.  Bring to a boil; reduce to simmer for half an hour.
3. Turn off burner and stir in condensed cheddar cheese soup.  Add shredded cheddar cheese and stir until melted.
4. Serve warm with crusty bread.  Nummy!

